RSS

Thought behind the art

02 Jul

Disclaimer: This blog post is for believers; if you think tattoo’s are hogwash then you’d probably want to move on.

I have often been asked “Why would you get inked? It’s permanent”. After my first tattoo I repeatedly answered that question to everyone who saw the tattoo on my hand. My last tattoo was simply the phrase “Let it be” on my wrist. For me it’s more than a song, it’s a motto. Life is going to throw curveballs every now and then. To every problem there will be a right way to handle it. But hunting for a solution is not always the right way to deal with it. Sometimes you just have to let it be and the answer finds its way to you.

My second tattoo concept started off with a bundle of thoughts. I wanted to get something that ties in everything: my love for travel, finding the right directions in life, my parents and importantly my inherent personality. Of course, since I cant really draw I had a hard time explaining my thoughts and getting them down on paper. Thanks to Pramod (awesome colleague) the thoughts finally have a shape:

Image

At first glance the tattoo is primarily about travel (Which is my ultimate dream in life) but each element also has alternate meaning. The 8 point star, a symbol of direction stands for how my parents brought me up, absolute freedom to choose my life direction albeit with proper guidance along the way. And when my so called “perfect” choices fell flat, they were always there to lend a shoulder to cry on, pick up the pieces and show me how to move ahead. For that they are my compass.

The bird is a symbol of my flighty nature: the need to take off without much thought of the journey or the destination. At the other end is an anchor: one of the most important parts of a ship. The anchor is what keeps a ship from drifting, keeps it grounded. My nature is a paradox and the reason I am what I am is that I can keep myself grounded while being flighty.

While all this may sound far-fetched, I believe I have finally been able to bring out the elements that mattered the most to me in this tattoo.. Here’s to all those who matter; you will always be a part of me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Thought behind the art

  1. Hiral

    July 3, 2013 at 9:04 am

    it is said that handwriting, doodle or for that matter a seemingly random tattoo has a subconscious significance.. But it takes more than that to have a more inner yet conscious linkage and balance in deriving it from the past, embracing it into the present and reflecting it in to the future.. Good write up and drawing.. All the best dear…

     
  2. Nandana

    April 25, 2014 at 10:13 am

    AMAZE!
    LOVE the concept of the compass, weighed in with equalling fitting elements like the bird and the anchor (not totally random, if you get what I mean)
    The background to the drawing and it’s physical representation is really well thought out!
    Hopefully soon I’ll get one too ^_^

     

Leave a Reply

 
